6th Georgian Bay International Conference on Bioinorganic Chemistry

CanBIC-6
Tuesday 23rd - Saturday 27th May, 2017


Georgian Bay Evening" a water colour by John Stillman ©2006
CanBIC News

News! 

 Rev-2017-April 24-abcdefghI

CanBIC-6 will start on Tuesday, May 23rd, 2017.

98 speakers have confirmed their attendance!

Please view with MS Edge or Firefox - Chrome has a new bug.

Symposium S9  Participants have all been notified.

On Line Registration is now *open*.

Abstract submission *closed*.

The Coach leaves at 5 pm on Tuesday May 23rd from the Marriott Toronto Airport HOTEL.  Free shuttle every 20 minutes from the airport.  Takes less than 10 minutes.

We are delighted to announce that Prof Alison Butler (UC Santa Barbara) is the 2017 Plenary Lecturer.

CanBIC (1,2,3,4 & 5) photos are available on the Shutterfly site (see below for more details).

Final Schedule-now-available

· Please visit our FACEBOOK page: WWW.FACEBOOK.COM/canbic.ca

 ·Click Here for the large CanBIC-6 Poster and here for the small Poster,

CanBIC-6 in 2017 Conference: arrive Tuesday 23rd May - depart Saturday, 27th May, 2017.

·VISAs and ETAs:  VERY, VERY IMPORTANT

 

Please note that to board a plane outside Canada to fly to Canada you will need an ETA paid for and registered before checking in at the airport! (Unless USA resident). More...

·Please e-mail Martin Stillman if you would like further information.

·Yes, the CanBIC Coach will drive to Toronto Airport on Saturday 27th morning in 2017 - leaving at 8 am and arriving at Pearson Airport (YYZ) at 11:30 am - please make sure your flights leave at least after 1:30 pm (especially if you are going to a US destination).

Parry Sound Weather Forecast

 

·If you want to stay before or after CanBIC-6 in Toronto near the airport CanBIC currently has no active discounted rates for hotels at the YYZ Toronto Pearson airport – our apologies.

However, very good rates are available: we suggest

The Comfort Inn is about 1.5 kms North from the Marriott Hotel on Dixon Road (called Airport Road for the Comfort Inn).  Please book through a web application like Hotels.com

Comfort Inn Toronto Airport

2.5 stars.  6355 Airport Rd, Mississauga, ON, L4V1E4, Canada

Has a free Airport Shuttle and you could take a bus along Airport Road the Marriott Hotel or a cheap taxi ride on Tuesday.

 

Please book rooms at the Comfort Inn and the Parry Sound Inn and Suites (was Microtel Inn) (group code to come soon) early because both fill up.  Please call the hotel directly now – there are rooms but not on the web.  The Trapper Inn and other smaller hotels and B & B also fill up. Please see the Hotels page for links.

Thank you to our sponsors.

·Yes, there will be Music at CanBIC-6 again.
- free admission - on Wednesday and Thursday.

·Hotel Booking

·

Instead of a hotel room, there are several B&B's.

CanBIC PHOTO Record

·Georgian Bay Day - Group picture from 2011

·Pictures from CanBIC-1-5 and CanBIC-1-5 Group Pictures (to come soon)

·Pictures from CanBIC-1

·And also here on Shutterfly.

Updated: 2017 MAY-3—r17-abcdefgH

 

click tracking

Names

2017Mar21- llmnopqR-94

Confirmed Speakers for CanBIC-6 in 2017

 

 

 

Organizers

 

 

Martin Stillman

University of Western Ontario, Canada

martin.stillman@uwo.ca

Nagao Kobayashi

Shinshu University, Japan

nagaok@shinshu-u.ac.jp

John Dawson

University of South Carolina, USA

jdawson@mailbox.sc.edu

 

CanBIC-6 is dedicated in fond memory of our colleague C Frank Shaw III

 

Plenary: Professor Alison Butler, Santa Barbara, USA

 

 

Symposium #1   Advances in Porphyrin Chemistry   (in running order)

16 (IN SESSION)

CHAIRS:  Kobayashi,

Nagao Kobayashi,

Shinshu University, Japan

nagaok@shinshu-u.ac.jp

David Goldberg

John Hopkins University, USA

dpg@jhu.edu

Zeev Gross

Israel Institute of Technology

chr10zg@tx.technion. ac.il

Takahiko Kojima

University of Tsukuba, Japan

kojima@chem.tsukuba.ac.jp

Masayoshi Takase

Ehime University

takase.masayoshi.ry@ehime-u.ac.jp

Victor Borovkov

Tallinn University of Technology

victor.borovkov@ttu.ee

Daniel Leznoff

Simon Fraser University

dleznoff@sfu.ca

Romain Ruppert

Université de Strasbourg

rruppert@unistra.fr

Hiroshi Shinokubo

Nagoya University

hshino@apchem.nagoya-u.ac.jp

Alexander Efimov

Tampere University of Technology

alexandre.efimov@tut.fi

Hiroaki Isago

National Institute for Materials Science

isago.hiroaki@nims.go.jp

Hidemitsu Uno

Uno Ehime University

uno.hidemitsu.mm@ehime-u.ac.jp

Mutsumi Kimura

Shinshu University

mkimura@shinshu-u.ac.jp

Roman S. Czernuszewicz

University of Houston

roman@uh.edu

Sergei Vinogradov

University of Pennsylvania, USA

vinograd@mail.med.upenn.edu

Seiji Mori

Ibaraki University, Mito, Japan

seiji.mori.compchem@vc.ibaraki.ac.jp

Jean Weiss

Université de Strasbourg, France

jweiss@unistra.fr

 

 

 

Symposium  #2   Heme Proteins and Analogues  (in running order)

19

CHAIRS:  Dawson

John Dawson,

University of South Carolina, USA

jdawson@mailbox.sc.edu

Angela Wilks

University of Maryland

awilks@rx.umaryland.edu

Dabney Dixon

Georgia State University, USA

ddixon@gsu.edu

David Goodin

University of California-Davis, USA

dbgoodin@ucdavis.edu

Tom Makris

University of South Carolina, USA

makrist@mailbox.sc.edu

Lionel Cheruzel

San Jose State University

lionel.cheruzel@sjsu.edu

Stephen Sligar

University of Illinois, USA

s-sligar@uiuc.edu

Michael Green

University of California-Irvine, USA

m.green@uci.edu

Ann English

Concordia University, Montreal, Canada

Ann.English@concordia.ca

John Magyar

California Institute of Technology

jmagyar@caltech.edu

Kara Bren

Rochester University, USA

bren@chem.rochester.edu

Nicolai Lehnert

University of Michigan

lehnertn@umich.edu

Emma Raven

University of Leicester

emma.raven@leicester.ac.uk

Takashi Hayashi

Osaka University, Japan

thayashi@chem.eng.osaka-u.ac.jp

Mario Rivera

 Kansas University, USA

mrivera@ku.edu

Jeff Warren

Simon Fraser University, Canada

j.warren@sfu.ca

Bruce Bowler

University of Montana, USA

bruce.bowler@umontana.edu

Koichiro Ishimori

Hokkaido University, Japan

koichiro@sci.hokudai.ac.jp

Kyle Lancaster

Cornell University

kml236@cornell.edu

Aimin Liu

University of Texas - San Antonio

feradical@utsa.edu

 

 

Symposium #3  Applications of Raman spectroscopy to heme proteins  (running order TBA)

13

CHAIRS:  KINCAID

James Kincaid,

Marquette University, USA

James Kincaid

Marquette University, USA

james.kincaid@marquette.edu

Manon Couture

Universite Laval, Canada

manon.couture@bcm.ulaval.ca

Denis Rousseau

Albert Einstein College of Medicine

rousseau@aecom.yu.edu

Takashi Ogura

University of Hyogo, Japan

ogura@sci.u-hyogo.ac.jp

Syun-Ru Yeh

Albert Einstein College of Medicine, USA

syeh@aecom.yu.edu

Sachiko Yanagisawa

University of Hyogo, Japan

sachi.y@sci.u-hyogo.ac.jp

Reinhard

Schweitzer-Stenner

Drexel University, USA

rs344@drexel.edu

Pierre Moenne-          

 Locoz

Oregon Health and Science University, USA

monnelo@ohsu.edu

Kent Rodgers

North Dakota State University, USA

Kent.Rodgers@ndsu.edu

Anabella Ivancich

CNRS & Aix-Marseille University, France

aivancich@imm.cnrs.fr

Paul Champion

Northeastern University

p.champion@northeastern.edu

Denis Proshlyakov

Michigan State University

dapro@chemistry.msu.edu

John C. Hackett

VCU Massey Cancer Center, USA

jchackett@vcu.edu

 

 

Symposium #4  Pharmaceutical and diagnostic agents  (running order - TBA)

14

CHAIRS: 

Tim Storr & Charles Walsby,

Simon Fraser University, Canada

Chris Orvig

University of British Columbia, Canada

orvig@chem.ubc.ca

Sherri A. McFarland

Acadia University, Canada

sherri.mcfarland@acadiau.ca

Jürgen Gailer

University of Calgary, Canada

jgailer@ucalgary.ca

Tim Storr

Simon Fraser University, Canada

tim_storr@sfu.ca

Elisa Tomat

University of Arizona, USA

tomat@arizona.edu

Charles Walsby

Simon Fraser University, Canada

cwalsby@sfu.ca

Luigi Messori

University of Florence, Italy

luigi.messori@unifi.it

Kagan Kerman

University of Toronto-Scarborough, Canada

kagan.kerman@utoronto.ca

Xiao-an Zhang

University of Toronto Scarborough

xazhang@utsc.utoronto.ca

Scott Bohle

McGill University

david.bohle@mcgill.ca

Justin Wilson

Cornell University

jjw275@cornell.edu

Edith (Phoebe) Glazer

University of Kentucky, USA

ec.glazer@uky.edu

Rene Boere

University of Lethbridge, Canada

boere@uleth.ca

 

 

 

 

 

Symposium #5  Metalloproteins:  Zinc & Iron Trafficking (running order – TBA)

8

CHAIRS: 

David Petering

Univ. of Wisconsin-Milwaukee, USA  

Sarah Michel

University of Maryland

smichel@rx.umaryland.edu

David Petering

Univ of Wisconsin-Milwaukee, USA

petering@uwm.edu

John Markley

University of Wisconsin-Madison

jmarkley@wisc.edu

Caryn Outten

University of South Carolina

outten@mailbox.sc.edu

David Giedroc

Indiana University, USA

giedroc@indiana.edu

Timothy Stemmler

Wayne State University

Timothy.Stemmler@wayne.edu

Claudia A. Blindauer

University of Warwick

c.blindauer@warwick.ac.uk

James Cowan

Ohio State University

cowan.2@osu.edu

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Symposium  #6 Biological Aspects of Toxic Metals  (running order TBA)

7

CHAIRS: 

Andrea Hartwig, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany

Andrea Hartwig

Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany

andrea.hartwig@kit.edu

Wojciech Bal

Polish Academy of Sciences, Poland

wbal@ibb.waw.pl

Frank Thevenod

University of Witten, Germany

frank.thevenod@uni-wh.de

Douglas Templeton

University of Toronto, Canada

doug.templeton@utoronto.ca

Kostas Pantopoulos

McGill University, Canada

kostas.pantopoulos@mcgill.ca

Wing-Kee Lee

University of Witten-Herdecke, Germany

Wing-Kee.Lee@uni-wh.de

Zhifeng Ding

University of Western Ontario, Canada

zfding@uwo.ca

Symposium #7: Instrumental probes of metal coordination binding sites  (running order - TBA)   10

CHAIR: 

 Stephen Ralph,

Wollongong University, Australia

Stephen Ralph

Wollongong University, Australia

sralph@uow.edu.au

Sharon Ruthstein

Bar Ilan Univversity, Isreal

sharon.ruthstein@biu.ac.il

Nick Le Brun

University of East Anglia, UK

n.le-brun@uea.ac.uk

Eva Freisinger

University of Zurich

freisinger@chem.uzh.ch

Matthew Liptak

University of Vermont, USA

mliptak@uvm.edu

Peter-Leon Hagedoorn

Delft University of Technology, The Netherlands

P.L.Hagedoorn@tudelft.nl

Christoph Fahrni

Georgia Institute of Technology, USA

fahrni@chemistry.gatech.edu

Guy Jameson

University of Otago

gjameson@chemistry.otago.ac.nz

Hongbin Li

University of British Columbia, Canada 

hongbin@chem.ubc.ca

Stephen Cramer

University of California, Davis, USA

spjcramer@mac.com

 

 

Symposium #8  Theoretical aspects of bioinorganic chemistry  (in running order)

8

CHAIRS: Luis and Goetz

Organizers: Angela Rosa,

Università della Bascilcata, Italy

Sam de Visser

The University of Manchester, UK

Andreas Goetz

San Diego Supercomputer Center

agoetz@sdsc.edu

Josep Maria Luis

Universitat de Girona, Spain

josepm.luis@udg.edu

James W. Gauld

University of Windsor, Canada

gauld@uwindsor.ca

Heike Fliegl

University of Oslo, Norway

heike.fliegl@kjemi.uio.no

Leeor Kronik

Weizmann Institute of Science

leeor.kronik@weizmann.ac.il

Alex Brown

University of Alberta, Canada

alex.brown@ualberta.ca

Dhruva Chakravorty

University of New Orleans

dhruva.chakravorty@uno.edu

Jorge H. Rodriguez

Purdue University, USA

jhrodrig@purdue.edu

 

 

Symposium #9 Student Symposia (running order - TBA)

 

CHAIRS:  DING

Zhifeng Ding

The University of Western Ontario

 

 

PRELUDE

FESTIVAL

 

 

 

Speakers in this symposium will be selected from abstracts submitted by undergraduates, graduates and pdfs before Feb 28th, 2017 selecting “S9” on the abstract submission form.  The decision will be made by the March 30th, 2017.  Abstracts submitted and not included in S9 will be presented in the poster session where the posters are on display for 3 days including a dedicated session on the Thursday evening

 

 

– 2017 March 21 mnopQ

 

click tracking

Contact Martin Stillman: martin.stillman@uwo.ca Conference E-mail: canbic@uwo.ca
© 2006-2008 UWO, Chemistry; © 2006-2009 CanBIC. CSS Design by Ihsan Rehman and Chris Peglar.